Motivation and Moral Development

🔓 This is an unlocked sample! Byrdseed.TV is open for new memberships through October 1st, 2021. Join today!


Students will look at six different levels of motivation behind a person's actions.

Dr. Lawrence Kohlberg identified six levels of moral development:

  1. Avoid punishment
  2. Seek rewards
  3. Please others
  4. Help society
  5. Improve the rules
  6. Follow a personal code

We can use these as a tool to discuss students' social-emotional needs as well as dig deeply into character motivation.


  1. First, we introduce the idea that one positive action can have different motivations - and those motivations can be positive or negative.
  2. Then, students learn about Levels 1 and 2 and note characters and historic figures who match up with those levels.
  3. Next, students learn about Levels 3 and 4 and note characters and historic figures who match up with those levels.
  4. In this part, students learn about Level 5 and look for characters and historic figures who fit this level.
  5. Finally, they'll learn about Level 6 and note how characters can match up with different levels depending on which point in a story we're looking at.


The registration window closes on October 1st, 2021

Send me some samples!

Or are you already ready to sign up?

Teachers love Byrdseed.TV!

"I just subscribed to Byrdseed.TV and am loving it -- though it is kind of scary addictive in a binge-watching kind of way (that, by the way, is a compliment)."  ~  Elizabeth from Florida

"I absolutely LOVE all of the ideas on your site. I am using Byrdseed TV to differentiate activities for my clustered students to work on when the rest of the class is doing something they’ve already mastered."  ~  Wendy in Washington

"Love, love, love Byrdseed TV... I used many ideas and lessons this year. The kids loved the lessons and were engaged!"  ~  Tiffany in California